PDA

View Full Version : Fitting a turbo diesel with a SuperTrapp?

BeaverBill
05-17-2008, 06:09 AM
Hello there. I currently live in Europe and I'm the owner of a '98 2.0i TD Honda Civic. I've been shopping around for the right silencer for my TD but I'm not quite sure the differences between a gas powered vehicle's silencer and a diesel's. In my searches I've stumbled upon SuperTrapp and, after flipping through your website, have grown attracted to the tunability of a SuperTrapp. As I'm relatively new to tuning, I'm left with a few questions of where to start and how to tune the exhaust. I wonder if any of you can help answer a few questions.

1. What are the differences between a silencer for diesel and gas powered vehicles? Will a SuperTrapp work for both?

2. What measurements do I have to take into account when fitting a SuperTrapp?

i. Interior or exterior exhaust tube measurements?

ii. Silencer length? Longer or shorter? Supposedly, the best set up for a TD is an open exhaust (no back pressure) therefore benefitting from unrestricted turbo spooling....

iii. Mounting?

iv. Exhaust gas volume?

3. Does an automotive SuperTrapp allow repacking? From the info gained from my searches I've come to the conclusion that diesels run higher temperatures than gas powered vehicles. As I've also installed a tuning box which allows me to tune "on the fly" which overfuels to gain extra torque and HP therefore, I assume, my exhaust temps are probably higher than normal during heavy accelerating. ( I don't yet have a exhaust temp guage to provide figures). Will I burn out the packing? I'm also worried about soot build up.

4. Sound? I'm a bit worried about sounding like a farm tractor, but I'm realistic.. it's a diesel. What would a diesel sound like with a SuperTrapp? What SuperTrapp would give me a bassy growl?

Thanking you all beforehand for the attention,

BB

bschultz
05-19-2008, 07:30 AM